Mark Dingwall and the Snub

Rangers beat St Johnstone in Perth the other night.

Perhaps more importantly, the “preferred bidder” or “new owner” or “consortium head” Charles Green was there to see the team he will be CEO of very soon. Mark Dingwall, the “owner of the biggest Rangers forum on the planet” was not. This isn’t a surprise. Mark doesn’t actually go to games at Ibrox or elsewhere, you see.

“I’ve seen him outside Ibrox!”, I hear you cry. Yes, so have I. Still I repeat, Mark doesn’t actually go to games at Ibrox or elsewhere. The key word in your collective cry was ‘outside’. That’s where he goes. Outside. Wandering round collecting the monies from the sellers of Follow Follow, the rarely seen fanzine.

50% of which goes to his declared earnings, 50% of which goes in his back pocket.

Even with that knowledge, I was really surprised that Mark didn’t travel the 62.3 miles, give or take, from his home to the ground in Perth. He missed a glorious chance to make himself known to Mr Green. Because Mr Green, one day in the job, arranged to meet fans’ representatives. Some big hitters were there and found Mr Green to be forthright and positive.

The man who thinks he is the biggest hitter of all wasn’t.

The strangest thing is that Mark, usually so very keen to eat crumbs from the top table, knew the new man was willing to meet the reps. He would, in all certainty, have been in the group meeting Mr Green.

Now, Mark may be falling from grace for his over enthusiastic backing of the Blue Knights to the exclusion of any other bidder, but surely he would have snapped the hand off anyone offering him a chance to sit with the new “head man”?

He did offer a reason when questioned about his non appearance. He didn’t get enough notice. Now, I think that excuse – because it is an excuse and not a reason – is pathetic. I wonder what Mr Green thinks?

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Mark Dingwall, this is your life.

10 Comments on “Mark Dingwall and the Snub”

  1. Ray Says:

    I think to be honest that you spend too much time worrying about Mark Dingwall, he is not really that important in the grand scheme of things, his forum is only uselful for his “followers” there is nothing but rumour and rubbish posted and his “lets invade the pitch moment” was Laurel and Hardy at best and rank stupidity at worst, there are better forums and sources of news out their, its all very well running a dictatorship but at the end of the day he will be “outed” as the fans need a leader and someone to speak on their behalf, that person would need to be smart,, intelligent, knowledgable and able to engage with the new owners, that person is not Mark Dingwall.


    • You and I know, Ray, “there is nothing but rumour and rubbish posted” on Follow Follow, but if you read many of the posts, his adoring followers – and there are still many – lap it up, believe it and worship it as if it were a newly found Gospel.

      I’m not worried about Dingwall, I’m angry at him. The whole point of this blog is to tell those who don’t know what he gets up to the truth. You also say “at the end of the day he will be “outed” “, which is what I am trying to do here.

  2. Ray Says:

    Well now I have found your blog I will keep my eyes open for it, I think to be honest his time is coming to an end as a spokesperson for anybody except maybe Greggs, I am a member of a few Rangers forums and to be honest they are far better than FF, as a matter of interest I did actually get banned shortly after joining FF and I took the time to twice write a detailed email to MD, surprisingly enough he never responded, I like many others look forward to the day we have a strong Rangers trust with people at the helm who can lead by example and that example would not be looking like a tramp and defrauding the taxman and his fellow bears.


  3. Like many others, I feel Dingwall is yesterday’s man. He is damaged goods I’m afraid and I don’t say that with any feeling of joy or resentment towards the man. He has upset too many Gers fans and too many Unionists with his antics and self preservation behaviour.

    The RFF asked for fan unity, everyone agreed to do so, except Mark and his hangers on. Time has come for all right thinking Bears to demand he has no further involvement with the club and the RST.

    FF is his employment, his cash cow, fine if you want to give him your hard earned cash Me? I would rather not visit his website and be banned for having an opinion by faceless wonders.

    The other Gers websites may not be perfect, but you can say what you like within reason and not be banned.


    • Said before I don’t frequent any forums, William, but his I know of old. There are, I suppose you know, good people on it. But I can’t believe they hang on his every word.

  4. dadoprso 9 Says:

    Hi weeproclaimer, unfortunately some gers fans do see his FF site as gospel, i work in a gers-leaning bar and many say- “did you read such and such on FF etc, blah,blah” Dark Mingwall’s appearance on STV Tonight the other week was embarrassing, hardly offered anything constructive whilst sat alongside Spiersy. Keep up the good work Weeproclaimer.

  5. Benny Blanco Says:

    His performance on Scotland Tonight was embarrassing, Spiers played him like a puppet. If we get a strong fans spokes person from all this turmoil it will be a silver lining


Leave a comment